When you sign up for Facebook, it is easy and few steps process. But Facebook doesn’t make it easy for you to delete or deactivate your account. It is like a one-way thing. But don’t worry, we have an extensive and easy guide to delete your Facebook account permanently.
This is not only you who want to delete your account, but also many others are concerned about their security on Facebook after the Cambridge university scandal. Millions of people’s data got breached, and this is really an alarming situation for the users about their privacy and personal data.
Not only the security but also some productive people want to save themselves from social media addiction and wants to live a happy life with family. It has been observed that the people who are leaving Facebook and other social media tend to be more comfortable than the social media addicts who post their every single meal on Facebook.
If you want your children not to be addicted to social media, then you also must not be addicted to social media. So if you are becoming parents, be a role model to your children and delete your Facebook account today.
Useful Reads: How to Delete your Snapchat Account in 7 Simple Steps
Deactivating Vs. Deleting the Facebook account (choose wisely)
Deactivating the Facebook account and deleting the Facebook account are not the same. A deactivated account can be recovered at any time and still visible to Facebook users, but this is not the case with deleting the Facebook account.
A deactivated account
- Can be reactivated at any time by logging in.
- People can see your profile and information.
- Anyone can send you messages over messenger.
- Facebook won’t delete your information and data from their database.
But if you want to delete your account, that is a permanent cut off from Facebook if you cancel your Facebook account then.
- You have 15 days to reactivate your account, just by logging back into your account.
- After 15 days, it is impossible to get back your account.
- But Facebook keeps your data in its database for 90 days, but you can access that. That is there for an unknown reason; Facebook does not explain that.
- You can also download your information before deleting your Facebook account.
The difference is well explained for now. Make your move.
How to Deactivate your Facebook Account
As mentioned above, deactivating the account is a different thing then deleting the account. Here is the step by step guide to deactivate the Facebook account.
- Open the Facebook app on your phone or Tab.
- Log in to the account you want to deactivate.
- Tap the three line menu button on the top right corner of the app.
- Scroll down and Tab settings under settings and privacy.
- In the settings menu, scroll down and navigate to Account ownership and control under Your Facebook information.
- In the next screen, you will see several options, select deactivating and deletion.
- In the next menu, select Deactivate my account, as we want to deactivate our account partly.
- And after selecting Deactivate account, Tab continue to Account deactivation.
- Your account will be deactivated.
As mentioned earlier, it is a temporary deactivation, and you can become reactive again at any time.
How to Delete your Facebook Account Permanently
Are you sure you want to delete your Facebook account? Because once it is entirely deleted in 15 days, it cannot be recovered at any cost.
So make your decision wisely and don’t forget to download Your Facebook information.
You can download your Facebook information by going into Settings, then Account ownership and control.
Here you can see an option for downloading Facebook account information.
Download that information in the precise format.
Before downloading, you can choose the type of Data you want to download, like posts, photos, etc.
Here are the steps to delete your Facebook account permanently.
- Log in to your Facebook account on the Facebook app of any web browser on mobile of Pc.
- Go to the settings, in the drop-down menu from the top right arrow on the webpage and the list in the mobile app.
- Now in the settings, go to Account ownership and control.
- Now in this menu, select Delete account and select continue deletion.
- After confirmation, your account will be deleted, but not immediately.
- It takes up to 15 days to entirely delete your account.
- Facebook don’t delete your personal information and data for up to 90 days, because of personal use and remarketing according to the terms and conditions.
Manually Delete your Facebook Data
If you don’t trust Facebook and want to delete your all data, liking and sharing, then you can do that. But that is really a long and filthy process; it may take your days to remove your all data.
So here is the procedure to delete your data.
- Go to your facebook profile from Pc or App.
- Now navigate to Activity Log.
- This is a secret menu; you may not know. In this, you can find all of the activity you have had on Facebook like uploading a picture, reacting on an image or commenting, etc.
- You can manually undo all of your actions and in this way your data will be deleted
- You can hire an assistant from Fiverr or any other freelancer platforms to get this job done.
So what do you want to do? Deactivate or delete your account.
If you want to deactivate your Facebook account, go to settings, and follow the above procedure.
And if you want to delete your Facebook account permanently Select delete account instead of deactivating the account.
Facebook keeps on changing the days for reactivating the account after deletion. At the time of writing, Facebook has written 15 days in terms and policy to reconsider your decision. Please let us know in comments if you face any difficulty in deleting your account.